top of page
  • Writer's pictureShauna Clagett

Loading troubles

One of the most common questions I get from people who don't know me is "what methods do you use?" It's interesting to me that there are now so many people who trade mark their name, and so called Trainers train under someone else's name, that people want a trademarked idea of who you are or what you are going to do to their horse. Personally I use the "Clagett" method. ;)


But in all seriousness I understand that many people who care about their horses care more about how they will be treated and have become more aware that there are multiple ways of getting horses to do things and wish to find the best match for their horse rather than choose the trainer that is closest to them. They want to be able to trust someone and agree with their philosophies to send their "baby" to. So I thought I would post this week about an incident I had loading a horse to come into my barn. It gives you insight as to how I view training a horse.


I have to give you a small back story on the mare. Her owner bought her and then was unable to work with her due to a medical emergency, and leased her out for what was supposed to be a year, a few months into the lease the leasee decided that she didn't want to ride after all and the mare sat, after a bit someone else expressed interest in leasing the mare with intention to breed. However, their idea of breeding was NOT doing a culture before breeding, Not having the follicle checked to see if this unknown mare was in full heat. Then took this mare, shot her up with tranquilizers, FORCED her into a breeding shoot she didn't want to get into, and brought a particularly loud and unmannered stallion to her, and she crashed over the breeding shoot to get away from it all.


So when it was decided to come pick her up we knew after hearing this drama that she would not be herself (this mare is very green but sweet and gentle, just the kindest temperament you could find, however hot and skittish), so before even getting there it was decided that training starts TODAY, at the loading, we where not going to force this mare into the trailer just to get her out of there.


This breeding leasee (who shall remain nameless) also had years of professionally trailering horse across country. So after an hour or so of coaxing this mare to make the right decision to step into the trailer on her own without force, and to CHOOSE the trailer. One of the leasee's came out. Of course we have all seen "the crowd." You know them, the people who see someone is having trouble getting a horse into a trailer and all gather around and start interjecting their opinion of "you should do this" or "this is what works" or "I always had the best results with this"... I could see it in his eyes, he wanted to tell us how to train (I say Us because I brought two assistance to help, this mare is 16 hands and loads of energy.)


As he walked up and said "can I make a suggestion about what works?..." I immediately said "Sure [John Doe] but just know I'm NOT going to be throwing a rope around the back side of this horse and forcing her into the trailer"... to which he continued with one breath "what you need to do is that that extra long lounge rope, attach it to the halter and run it up into the tie ring and then bring it all the way around behind her butt". I politely told him thank you for the suggestion but we are not forcing this mare in, she was being trained and we did not want any bad memories made at this point but instead wanted her to make the decision to get in the trailer. His reaction to that was "You expect that mare to just walk up on a trailer on her own?" to which I said "yes" even if we take a long time she will get there.


She did, it took three hours, but she did. Most people give up and the horse outlasts them. That is the trouble, as a trainer you need to have the attitude of "even if it takes me 12 hours and I have to call for delivery I'm going to stay calm and win this mental exercise". I was even willing to drive a few miles away to try a more open backed horse trailer that wasn't so dark inside. Luckily she got in just before I got it, but if that is what it takes to get her to make the decision to get in on her own, I'm going to do it. Without abuse. That DOESN'T mean I let a horse buffalo and just refuse. There is a fine difference between a horse that see's you are afraid of them and a horse that is genuinely scared. I'm not afraid of a horse and the personality I have does let a horse know I'm not going to mess around or be intimidated.


There are those who train "natural horsemanship" that I don't agree with. Pat Parelli, and TRT methods that have followed that put pressure on a horse until it makes the right decision sounds great and all... However, I don't need to waive a horses lead rope in it's face and make it head shy to back off, and I don't need to bend the horses head around to it's shoulder to make it's poll relax EVERY time I ask it to do something. That's not practical... If you are driving a horse in a cart you can't jump off and ask it to bend it's neck and relax. You also should NOT be training him to go backwards, forward motion is the safest. (but more on that later).


It's funny how sometimes when working on something specific that is JUST when one trainer or another writes a blog or puts out a video, and that is just what happened with this exercise; I'm now working with this mare at home and Tristan Tucker sent out a newsletter all about trailer loading, and while I totally agree with not MAKING a horse get into the trailer and the horse must make the decision, with calmness and confidence, I disagree TOTALLY with this statement from his own newsletter...


"You can think that feed is also asking, but actually it is a bribe. It’s taking his attention away from controlling his feet and it’s giving him something that tricks him to go in. Once the horse gets in the trailer, he realizes that he was focusing on the food and now he focuses on the environment he didn’t know he was going in to." -Tristan Tucker


I totally disagree... All the horses I have ever worked with are not stupid enough to be distracted by food enough to forget where they are or what it is they are afraid of. If they are afraid of something, they won't eat, or they will snatch and grab. I am totally not to proud to occasionally use treats as rewards and to get a horse to get a "warm and fuzzy" feeling towards something they hate by using food.


This mare for example, took three hours to get into the horse trailer without force, she did have to be told NOT to try to run over people, but we gave her ample time to consider that we were not going to abuse her in anyway and convince her that the trailer is where she can rest and no longer be asked to move or respond. I then dropped a trailer RIGHT next to the barn where I train out of. The first day I worked her in trailer loading I decided that my first goal was just to get her to walk up to the trailer and sniff it without asking her to get in. So she would be able to give me the correct answer and realize she gets rewards (relaxation and food) for the correct answers and work if she doesn't. (I use work as punishment and rest for reward.)


It was quite easy the first day, since we had taken SO long and did the right things getting her on the trailer in those 3 hours (yes it was frustrating, but so worth it) she spooked at the sight of the trailer at first, but quickly gave into my request of "just walk up to it" and was rewarded. I then asked her to walk away and then walk up again, and with the right answer I asked her to just hang out right next to the trailer as if the trailer was her new best friend.


I put a bowl of her feed just on the edge of the inside. So she didn't even have to reach for her first bite, and I just stood and hung out. then moved it an inch further in, and another and another, until she had to reach in to eat, just far enough that she had to be right next to it but not actually get in, because I didn't want her to get in. I literally just want her to like the trailer.


She got so close her front legs were practically in and she pulled her back feet up right behind her front legs as it standing on a pedestal. Very cool. I walked her away. The next day I asked her JUST for front feet, and she gave them to me immediately. She stepped her front feet in so I fed her again. She's associating the trailer with calmness, and fun times, and just hanging out together. Sometimes if a horse is really tense but standing still I will employ of few of my massage techniques. Horses that can bond with humans are much more willing to work with less stress, and still tails, no soured ears, and mental focus.


Could I work her all day and get her in the trailer in just one day? Yes of course I could. It's not that I couldn't. But in my opinion most horses feed off humans energy and if you are rushed and stressed all the time then they horse wonders what predators are around to make you so stressed out all the time. What ever happened to just taking your time? What happened to bonding? If I spend all this time hanging out with this mare then she is going to associate the trailer with good times and happiness. food, and massage, and scratches in the right places. it will make it easier on her to deal with the things you can not control, such as getting stuck in stop and go traffic on the way to a meet or show. Or getting stung by a yellow jacket while in route somewhere (yes I had that happen to one of my horses poor thing.)


Does that mean I want my horses to be my friends? NO, I also believe that a horse should see humans as the Alphas. They need to respect your space and not be pushy. What happens in a herd where a horse is spooked next to an alpha? They will still spook but also keep their head just enough not to crash into the Alpha and get a terrible nip or a kick.


So even if I'm being nice and spending time, there are very strict rules the horse must follow. But I make the goals small, and hang out with horses in a manner that doesn't involve our instant reaction, instant messaging, instant social media world. That is the benefit of keeping my training barn small. Loads of extra time for each and every horse rather than trying to ride 26 horses in one day and having the grooms do all the grooming and the tacking and lounging and warm up... I'm there to teach ground manners, respect, kindness, and to make a horse not only safe for armatures and youth, but actually enjoyable. That kind of temperament takes time, and will not be accomplished in one weekend "colt starting challenge".


If you want your horse to be started and at a canter, then trot, then walk in only 30 days I have trainers I can make a recommendation... But if you want a horse that doesn't swish his tail or pin his ears in the show ring every time you ask it to do anything, and possible nickers at the sight of your arrival, and ALSO can win in the showring. Then come aboard, I'd love to have your horse in our program.


Until next week,

Shauna


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page